Set Aside vs. Set Apart

To be set aside is to be rejected. To be set apart is to be given an assignment that requires preparation.

Right now I am feeling very set aside. I feel like things I want don’t matter, my hopes and dreams don’t matter.  I am always conceding something in order to not step on anyone else’s toes or to make sure someone else is happy.  Don’t get me wrong, I am happy that they are happy but sometimes it comes at a high cost.

I love hard but still get set  aside.  If I love little, I don’t feel fulfilled.  I give all I can, only to feel like it’s not enough. If I give little, then I feel like I am wasting my time.

God says that we are set apart, He says that we are chosen, adores, and reserved for a high calling. In Psalm 4:3 David writes, “Know that the Lord has set apart his faithful servant for himself; the Lord hears when I call to him.”

Right now I don’t know what I am set apart for and there have been plenty of times over the past few years where I haven’t been sure that He hears me.  All I know is that I am here. I am at the point where I am frustrated with God, because I keep asking what He wants me to do, but I don’t know the answer is. We are set apart to be His people but what does that mean?
Jeremiah 1:5 “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart, I appointed you as a prophet to the nation.” 

They say when you don’t know what your purpose is, maybe you are called to do something that has never been done before. Maybe that is true. What have you been set apart for?

Leave a Reply

