The 23rd Psalm Without The Shepherd

Erik and I had a random discussion about the 23 Psalm and how different it would be if The Shepherd were not involved, if He were not as merciful as He is.  How would it read?  What kind of life would that be? Here is my rendition of the 23 Psalm for a person who has not chosen God as their shepherd.

This is not my shepherd; I want for everything

I am forced to lie down on stony paths; I am consumed by troubled waters

My soul is void and bereft of life; I walk in the paths of unrighteousness for my own name’s sake

And as I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I fear all things: for I am alone and there is no comfort for me.

A table has been prepared for my enemies so that they may feast upon me.  I have anointed myself in shame until my cup runneth over.

Surely wrath and despair shall follow me all the days of my life and I will be cast from the house of the Lord forever.

 

Thank God that He is our shepherd and is merciful.  A life like this would be unbearable!

Leave a Reply

